Baking, baking, baking….

These past couple of days I’ve been pouring over cookbooks and recipe sites trying to work out what new baking delights to make. You see my sister the lovely Fi, who can be found at thebookreadingbaker suggested that we (me, her and a couple of unsuspecting friends) have a Great British Bake Off send off. For anyone that doesn’t already know this The Great British Bake Off (or GBBO as we like to call it on twitter) is a programme on BBC2 in the style of Mastechef but where the competitor’s only bake. So it’s full of tarts and pies, cakes and meringues, breads and crackers etc etc. Now, I’m not afraid to admit that this programme has been the highlight of my Tuesday evenings for the past 9 weeks. Let’s be honest, now that Autumn has officially arrived there really is nothing better than curling up on the sofa with a bowl of soup, some crusty bread and Mel and Sue’s quirky tellings of the GBBO. The fact that baking royalty Mary Berry is a judge on the programme certainly helps, she can tell just from looking at a cake exactly which ingredients our bakers have been heavy handed with, but sadly next week is the Final, so we’ll get to see which of the GBBO baker boys will be crowned this year’s champion. Personally I’m hoping it’s Brendan, but we’ll have to wait and see.

Back to why I’m scouring cookbooks – you see to commemorate the end of this faboulous programme, Fi decided that we needed to give it a proper send off. So we will be having something of a GBBO Send off party and watching the final episode with bated breath and lots of baked goodies. The plan is for each member of the GBBO send off party to make one sweet and one savoury food that has featured on the series this year. Which is where all my research comes in, what to do, what to do? With other guests making such scrummy delights as pork pies, chocolate tarts and crackers i still can’t decide what I want to make. I’ve been going backwards and forwards since we started discussing this. I’m choosing between a bread plait and a quiche (probably broccoli) for savoury. But i’m not sure about my sweet options. I’d like to make cake pops as they seem to be all the rage right now, but technically they weren’t made on the GBBO, so I may have to cheat. I know I’ll have to make my mind up soon – only 5 days to go.

I’ll keep you posted on what I decide. Any ideas/thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

