Books to Read in 2013…

This year (2012) I attempted to do the goodreads Challenge of reading 50 books a year. Now I know I can do this as I have been known to read one book a day, never mind one book a week. So I signed up and started my challenge. And promptly failed. I don’t know what happened, but I’ve only read 25 – which is useless. I’m so annoyed with myself as that’s just such a pitiful amount. Especially as I’ve had a total of 4 weeks in holidays this year, where I tend to get through lots of books. Okay, I lie, I do have some idea how it happened. Here are a couple of things that may have been a factor. First, I’ve lost my commuting reading time. Since February I have been walking the 3 miles to (and normally from) work, instead of taking the bus. This means that my usually guaranteed 90 minute reading time each day has disappeared. Honestly, I don’t think I realised just how much time I spent reading on my commute! Secondly, instead of lazy lieins reading at the weekends, I’ve been getting up and going for a run as I’ve realised that it’s best to get them out of the way so that the rest of the day is a much more pleasant experience! But this again means no reading time, which has clearly effected the amount of books I can get through!

Although I’m disappointed in my inability to complete the reading challenge, I’m still going to try again this year, and for some added inspiration I’ve been making a list of books to read. I figure that if I’ve got a list to get through as well as the goodreads challenge then surely I can’t fail…famous last words! This list is mainly made up of classics as I’ve realised that I actually haven’t read that many, then I’ve added any books that I own but haven’t gotten around to reading yet. My plan for 2013 is to get through as many of these that I can and to reach the 50 needed for my new 2013 goodreads challenge.

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le Carre

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Dr Zhivago by Boris Pasternak

The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

Gulliver’s Travel by Jonathan Swift

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

Ulysses by James Joyce

1984 by George Orwell

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes

Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Middlemarch by George Eliot

The BFG by Roald Dahl

Skippy Dies by Paul Murray

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Night Circus by Erin Morgenstein

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

The Iliad by Homer

The Odyssey by Homer

The King’s Speech by Mark Logue and Peter Conrad

In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan

Heroes of Olympus, The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

The Withered Arm and other stories by Thomas Hardy

London Calling by James Craig

Paper Towns by John Green

Finding Sky by Joss Stirling

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein

The Declaration by Gemma Malley

The Greek Myths: Storied of the Greek by Robin Waterfield

A History of Modern Britain by Andrew Marr

Dreams from my Father by Barack Obama

The Legends of King Arthur by Sir James Knowles

Habits of the House by Fay Weldon

Watch Over Me by Daniela Sacerdoti

Monsoon Season by Katie O’Rourke

Fifty Shades Darker by EL James

Fifty Shades Freed by EL James

Absolute Power, David Baldacci

First Family, David Baldacci

The Forgotten, David Baldacci

The Other Daughter, Lisa Gardner

NYPD Red, James Patterson

Confessions of a Murder Suspect, James Patterson

Merry Christmas, Alex Cross, James Patterson

So let’s see how this goes then…

Lau xxx

One thought on “Books to Read in 2013…

  1. Pingback: New books for 2013 « Lau's Rambling Corner

Leave a Reply

