Loves, laughs and obsessions

Today I thought I’d share a few things that have taken my fancy this week.

This Book…

Tired of London, Tired of Life

I was given this book for Christmas and I fell in love with it straight away. Clearly Santa had been listening to me discuss my desire to see more of the hidden parts of London. Based on a blog of the same name this book details one new thing to do each day in London. Highlights for me include climbing to the top of St Paul’s Cathedral (January 4th), Picking blackberries on Wormwood Scrubs (10 August), Swim on a rooftop at Oasis (5 August), Watch a film at the Phoenix (22nd October) and Take tea in Bishop Howley’s Drawing Room (29th September). This book has really helped me this week as just when I start to feel the January blues coming on, I flip open this book and dive in. I simply can’t wait for a free day so that I can get planning some of these wonderful activities.

This Trailer…

Beautiful Creatures

I have fallen in love with the trailer for this film. It’s the film adaptation of a young adult novel, which I actually read a couple of years ago when the book was first published (the perks of working in publishing) and was instantly hooked, I loved the characters and the story and was suddenly telling all my friends about it. Although thinking about it, I wasn’t quite as enthralled with the follow up book, maybe I’ll give it another go now as this trailer has certainly reawakened my excitement. The film version looks stunning, I know the trailer is supposed to make you want to see the film and by golly this one certainly delivers. I had goosebumps watching it, and I was immediately transported into the story. Check it out here, it’s out in February so until then I’m just going to keep watching the trailer over and over again!

This TV Programme…

Hairy Dieters

With the post Christmas TV slump there are startling few decent TV programmes on at the moment. It doesn’t help that I’m a bit of a US TV fan and they’ve all stopped for a long break over the Christmas and New Year period. So in between watching all the films I recorded over the festive period I have been watching this series for the first time. I think it must be a repeat from last year, either way The Hairy Dieters; Love food, Lose weight is brilliant. After deciding to lose weight these two TV chefs have created some glorious low calorie recipes, some of which are ingenious – lasagne with leek layers instead of pasta, pies made with dough and delicious looking skinny cupcakes, made with blueberries and lemon. It’s the recipes that I love about the whole thing, especially as I’m trying to stick to a low calorie diet, but sometimes it can be hard…not to mention boring too! So these recipes will definitely breath new life into my weekly menus. It’s also great to see chefs taking on lower calorie recipes, honestly I can’t think of any other chefs who have attempted this.

And this…

…bed
This Vivaldi bed from Fishpools is my dream bed. Never mind that I cannot afford to spend half this much on a bed, but I can dream ad if I won the lottery then this would be my first purchase. It’s so decadent and just absolutely gorgeous…a girl can dream.

20130106-122746.jpg

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

