February reading time

So it turns out that February is not a good month for me to get any reading done. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because it’s a shorter month? I don’t know. But basically I’ve read two books; Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood and The Twits by Roald Dahl. Luckily it looks like I’m (just about) still on track for the 50 a year challenge.

Born Wicked is a young adult novel about three sister witches who have to keep their talents a secret from the Brothers. It’s the first in the series entitled The Cahill Witch Chronicles and the plot has everything you’d expect for a great story; the love interest, a prophecy, sibling rivalry, gossiping villagers and an evil government to overcome. I actually really like this book and can’t wait for the next one to be published so that I can see what happens next.

How have I never read The Twits before? This seems completely unbelievable to me as I absolutely loved both Matilda and Charlie and The Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. Clearly I focused on rereading these two instead of reading other Dahl works. Anyway I read The Twits in a couple of hours one weekend and it was exactly what I needed – to just lose myself in a story, and so okay, it was a kids story but so what?! Sometimes I need to read something easy, that has pictures, that I don’t have to think about too much.

So although I haven’t done much reading this month, I did actually find a couple of quotes that I loved from the two that I did read. First there’s this one from the main character, Cate in Born Wicked – ‘I don’t want to be any of those things! I just want to be me, Cate. Why isn’t that ever enough?’. I love this quote because I think sometimes we all feel like this. We all try to be what everyone else wants or needs us to be, but sometimes we have to think about what’s best for us.

The other quote is from The Twits – ‘If a person has ugly thoughts, it begins to show on the face. And when that person has ugly thoughts every day, every week, every year, the face gets uglier and uglier until it gets so ugly you can hardly bear to look at it.’ Wise words from Mr Dahl. I know The Twits is a book for children, but I think it has so many lessons for everyone, no matter how young or old. In all honestly age really isn’t relevant when it comes to reading this treasure.

So those are my books from February, hopefully I’ll do better next month – or at least I’d better as I can’t fall behind anymore in my challenge.

Right now I’ve just started The Book Thief which is a bit of a monster of a book, I’m only 50 pages in and I’m not really feeling it, any suggestions? Should I persevere? I’ve heard such good things about this book so I’d be loathe to give it up, but maybe I just need to commit to giving myself an evening where I read it without distractions, a few hours to fully immerse myself into the story, the people and places. I’ll see how it goes, watch this space.

Lau xxx

 

2 thoughts on “February reading time

  1. I started reading the Book Thief too and couldn’t get into it. Everyone I’ve ever talked to that had read it said it was “simply amazing” but I put it down. It wasn’t for me at that juncture in my life. Perhaps I’ll try again this winter. I suggest The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown. Keep reading!

    • So pleased it’s not just me! I’ll definitely look up The Weird Sisters. I’m gone on to Book 3 of The Game of Thrones and am whizzing through that so all is good 🙂

Leave a Reply

