The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Has anyone read this book? I read it when it was really big, recently published and winning awards and was impressed straight away. It was the firsts time I think that I’d read any book with a character that had Asperger’s Syndrome. I found this book incredibly sad, but also incredibly clever and unputtdownable. So when I heard that The National Theatre were turning the story into a play I was incredibly excited. We all know how much I love The National Theatre, so bring them together with a great book and you know the outcome is going to be a winner.

I couldn’t get tickets when this was on at the National, they disappeared too quickly, but luckily the powers that be decided to continue the production at a theatre in the West End. So that’s where I was last Friday, at The Apollo theatre to watch this play. Wow, it was amazing, obviously I knew the story, but the way they turned it into a play was completely remarkable. The acting was superb and the set was amazing. Without giving anything away what they did with the stage was just a perfect setting for the story. I can’t recommend going to see this play highly enough. It’s only just started at The Apollo so get tickets now. Do it, you know you want to!

Does anyone have any theatre recommendations? What should I be going to watch in Theatreland right now?

Lau xxx

2 thoughts on “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

  1. I watched the play when it was on at the National and like you I was completely blown away! Aesthetically, I thought it was absolutely stunning! I haven’t read the book, but it’s on my TBR list. Was the production quite true to the novel?

Leave a Reply

