Oxford Love

Today I wanted to share a bit more of my trip to Oxford with you. Yes this basically means pictures. Oddly enough I actually didn’t take that many while I was there, basically some of the cottage and some of Oxford itself. Apparently I forgot to take pictures of myself and my friends – what a numpty! I’m blaming the fact that I didn’t have my real camera, just my phone one. Ignoring that small oversight my trip to Oxford when a little something like this…

  • Road trip from south London to our little cottage in Swinford near Oxford. This included a trek across London that took 1 hour (yes, seriously), damn Friday afternoon London traffic.
  • To get to Swinford you have to go over a toll bridge, the cost of a car crossing is 5p – yes I’m being serious here!
  • Arrive at cottage, get the keys and make ourselves at home, while awaiting arrival of friends. Take lots of pictures of the decor of our cottage – some weird and wonderful paintings and sculptures. Also a rocking horse – I swear I wanted this exact one when I was younger.
  • All present and correct, settle in for an evening of gossiping, eating and wine drinking – perfect.
  • Slightly cold evening due to lack of central heating. Thank god for electric fires!
  • Lazy morning with croissants for breakfast – a sure sign we’re having a girlie weekend.
  • Quick walk across the road for the bus to Oxford. Followed by a slow meander around the city in the snow, taking (a few) pictures along the way.
  • Long lunch in Bill’s  – delicious food – don’t my BBQ pork ribs with sweet potato fries look delicious. I ate way too much, but it was so good!
  • More wandering around Oxford, this time it was the shops! I of course managed to find some bits and pieces to buy, mostly in Primark. To be honest I don’t think I’ll ever be one of those people that always shops quality over quantity. Maybe when I become a millionaire, but until then!
  • Back on the bus, back to our cottage and another night of chatting, ogling Zac Efron while watching Charlie St Cloud and eating pizza.
  • Sunday we headed to Bicester Village for a bit of designer retail therapy in the snow – only light snow, but still snow. In March. What’s going on??
  • One Cath Kidston London print bag for all my gym bits later and we headed for lunch before departing for home.
  • A very uneventful journey home, super fast too. So much better than the nightmare that was Friday afternoon!

All in all Oxford was superb, so much fun. I love these weekends away where I get to catch up with these wonderful people. A lovely city and a gorgeous cottage in the countryside is just the icing on the cake.

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

