Wool House

A couple of weeks ago a friend of mine handed me a flyer and told me that I had to check out the Wool House exhibit at Somerset House. Seeing as I work just down the road from there I actually tucked this in on my lunch hour the next day.

I wasn’t really sure what I was going to find when I walked between the sheep and past the woollen trees into the newly finished west wing of the glorious Somerset House. The exhibit was free and was apparently the largest showcase of wool in the world. There were rooms completely decorated with wool, a nursery, a bedroom, a living room, all decked out with carpets, wall coverings, furniture and decorations made from wool. Then there was a section on wool used in fashion, artwork made from wool and people using spinning machines and looms. My favourite pieces were the rainbow carpet, the sheep artwork (yes made from wool), the living room lamps and the nursery cot mobile. It’s unbelievable just how much wool can be (and is) used in our everyday lives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wandering around Wool House also made me want to pick up the knitting needles again, I’ve been a bit lax with the knitting lately, which is odd as usually during winter I have a couple of projects on the go. So I’ve already got a bit of a list of new projects forming in my mind, so far it includes finishing off a rabbit toy, baby hats, baby booties and trauma teddies. What this space…

Lau xx

Leave a Reply

