My missing list – Day 12

As soon as I saw what today’s blog every day in May topic was I knew it was going to be a hard topic to tackle. For most people I imagine as soon as you read the question ‘What do you miss?’ your mind goes automatically to any loved ones that are no longer alive. Or at least that’s what happened to me. As much as I want to ignore this topic I’ve committed to this month long challenge so i’m going to soldier on and get this post done. So here’s what I miss….

  • People who I have lost – Obviously top of the list is all those loved ones who are no longer with us. Losing a loved one is always tough and for me I go through a stage of denial and ignoring the fact that someone has died. I try to block it out of my mind because it is so painful. I hate the fact that my Grandpa, Grandma and Grampy are not in my life anymore, I can’t visit them, talk to them and tell them what’s going on in my life. I miss exploring the south coast with my grandparents, seeing my Grampy arrive at Heathrow wearing his feather hat and knowing that they will all me missing from any major parts of my life going forward.
  • Being a child – everything was a lot simpler; no long hours at work, no bills to pay or people to appease. You could do what you want and not worry about anything. Also I miss not seeing my immediate family all the time. Plus I lived in a gorgeous village in the countryside, so I miss that too. It’s just so different from living in the city.
  • People who live far away – I have a lot of family in Australia which is really hard as I don’t get to see them anywhere near as often as i’d like. Phone and skype session just aren’t the same. Being able to just pop in for a cuppa and a chat with my Nanna would be amazing, plus she’d be able to correct my knitting mistakes in a flash. The same goes for my family in the UK, dropping Becca in Sheffield last weekend was really hard, thank god it’s the summer soon! I miss not living as close to my best uni girls, it’s weird living together for three years and then not seeing each other unless you plan in advance. I miss those days of dinner together and lazy weekends mooching around Leicester.

Lau xxx

2 thoughts on “My missing list – Day 12

Leave a Reply

