Pavement Hoggers – Day 22

Day 22, Wednesday: Rant about something.

So today I have been given license to rant and there’s nothing anyone can say about it. Isn’t it just brilliant?! So i’m choosing to discuss the annoyingness that is other people on the pavement when i’m running. Sounds ridiculous I know but I can’t stand it when i’m running along a pavement and there are people coming the other way and they don’t move. Let me just explain here that I don’t expect people to abandon the pavement altogether, i mean I’m not royalty or anything (if only). But surely common courtesy dictates that if two or more people are coming towards one runner then surely you share the pavement. Simple manners, right? Well apparently not, you see for the past few weeks as more people have been outside enjoying the (blink and you’ll miss it) sunshine I have discovered that the majority of people are complete and utter pavement hoggers. I’ve lost count of the number of times I have had to either stop while they pass or jump out and run on the road. I hate it, i’d like everyone to show just a little bit of consideration towards other people…namely me. It’s not a new concept is it? Personally if i’m walking and there are runners or cyclists near me then I am hyper aware of letting them get past me so that I don’t slow them down. There’s no need for you to walk three people abreast while I balance on the edge of the pavement and dodge parked cars and drains. Seriously people. Think a bit more about other people please.

Right there we go, sorry about that. On a slightly happier note my 10k is coming up super fast. Only 5 more days to go. I’m actually really looking forward to it, I’ve now received my running number and running chip to go on my trainers so I’m all set to go. Just a gentle hint – if anyone wants to sponsor me and give to the wonderful charity that is the Alzheimer’s Society then just click here to head on over to my fundraising page.

Lau xxx

2 thoughts on “Pavement Hoggers – Day 22

Leave a Reply

