A full month of blogging – Day 31

Can we first take a moment to congratulate me for making it through this challenge. I can’t quite believe that I blogged every day in May – squeee! A round of applause for me i think! *blogger pats self on back and grins manically*.

Right, with that out of the way, let’s get back to the final challenge of the month – Day 31, Friday: A vivid memory

Didn’t we just have a memory post? I swear we did. If only my memory was better than it is then I’d probably be good at this prompt! My vivid memory is about the day I stood on a pea. Sounds wholly ordinary doesn’t it? In fact you are probably wondering why this is something that counts as a vivid memory. Well let me first explain that I have an entirely unreasonable phobia of peas. I hate the smell, taste, texture, and look of peas. In fact I loathe to even have them on my plate! Now back to the vivid memory. It was about 8pm  on a usual weekday evening when I was still living with my parents. We’d just finished dinner and I was helping clear the table like you do. And then suddenly I felt it, the squish of something under (my bare) foot. A quick glance down and I was hit my the sudden realisation that the green mush between my toes had, only a few seconds earlier been a small green pea. I’m not sure I can describe the sheer panic and disgust that engulfed me after that. Let’s just say there was a lot of squealing and hopping up and down on one foot until the offending mush had been removed and my feet were safely in protective slippers – chipmunk slippers if I remember correctly. Suffice is to say that my dad got a very severe talking to over the way he ate his peas next time.

Just wanted to say a final thanks for putting up with my daily ramblings during this challenge. I bet you’re fed up with me by now!

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

