Back in the groove – June reading update

Hello everyone and welcome to my June reading update. The bad news is that I am now 9 books behind where I should be at this point in the year – oops! However, the good news is that I actually read 4 books in June, yes four. It’s somewhat of a miracle isn’t it! Hopefully this signals the start of a new pace of reading, although with the summer comes more walking to work and less bus travelling, which could cut into my reading time quite a bit.

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn – There has been an awful lot of hype about this book and having finally gotten around to reading it I sort of understand some of it. It’s an interesting book and I definitely wanted to see how it would all end, but it was a bit slow and I didn’t actually like the ending. I didn’t feel like it was finished properly, and I hate unfinished stories. I’m not saying that everything needs to be all wrapped up neatly in a bow, but something more was definitely needed.

A Storm of Swords 2: Blood and Gold, George R. R. Martin – Yep another Game of Thrones book has been completed. As always I love these books and Part 2 of Book three is pretty epic. I think it’s possibly my favourite one of the series so far. I can’t wait to start number four soon.

The Righteous Men, Sam Bourne – So this book is just a bit blah. It’s an interesting concept for a crime/mystery book but the main character investigating everything, a British reporter, is so annoying – just my opinion of course, but I couldn’t get over it all the way through the book. I finished this on Wednesday and left it in The National Theatre foyer in the hopes that someone else would enjoy it more than I did.

The Forgotten, David Baldacci – The fact that I read this one in two days should tell you all how much I liked it. It’s the second Baldacci title that focuses on Puller an Army investigator, and it was gripping from the first page. It focuses on human trafficking in a Florida town.

Next month I want to read a couple of big books, i’m thinking A Casual Vacancy and possibly A Feast of Crows, so i’m not sure how much of a dent I’ll be able to make in the 9 books that I need to catch up on, but let’s not worry about that right now.

Happy Reading everyone.

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

