Wise Words – quote love

I’ve had a quote book for a couple of years ten years now (that makes me feel old!). It’s the place where I jot down funny things, favourite quotes from people, movies, books, good song lyrics and other bits and bobbins that I want to remember, like my funeral songs. Yes, you read that right, I have my funeral songs already picked. They’re written on the back page of my quote book fyi. This book is the place I go when I need some encouragement  cheering up of a moment to reminisce. It’s actually been awhile since I updated this lovely book of mine so at the weekend I decided it was time to sort things out. To get rid of all the scraps of paper and write up everything in an orderly fashion, plus with the whole Pinterest thing I have a lot more motivational words to add in. There are of course numerous bits of paper threatening to fall out; old envelopes or receipts where I’ve written things down, christmas cards with poems in and even a long email chain debating the words for my Grampy’s eulogy.
So I set to work and spent a good couple of hours re-reading everything. It was brilliant, lots of laughter, smiles and a few tears, and then I decided I wanted to share some with you.

‘Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?’ – Gimli, The Lord of the Rings

I don’t actually know if this is in the book, but it’s one of my favourite moments in the film. It’s like every good hero character in any book, they know how dangerous a situation is and they throw themselves into it, because it’s the right thing.

‘It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to your friends’ – J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone

Of course there’s a Potter quote! There are literally hundreds I could add from the series. It’s so hard to do the right thing sometimes, especially when you’re going against other people, the fact than an eleven year old boy can do it, when a grown up me can’t, just shows what a great person Neville is (yes he is real).

‘Imagination is more important than knowledge’ – Aristotle

I often think that too much importance is put on academic prowess. I think I would rather have imagination than cleverness, a life without imagination would be incredibly sad.

‘A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men’ – Roald Dahl

Just a gentle reminder to not take ourselves too seriously. Laughter and silliness really can be the best medicine.

‘Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.’ – James Dean

I plan way too much and it’s something I’m trying to sort out. This quote is perfect to help me do this. I need to stop thinking about things too much and just get out there and do them!

I’m not sure if this will become a regular thing or if this is a one off, but I do know that either way I will definitely be looking at this book more often as it’s such a great source of inspiration, motivation and smiles for me.

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

