Why Running is Awesome

I realised the other day that I have been a bit quiet on the running front recently, probably because running isn’t on my mind all that much. Don’t get me wrong I am still running a couple of times a week, but it’s not something that’s on my mind all the time. I think it’s because, although I’m doing the London Colour Run on Sunday, I haven’t got any other races coming up so therefore I don’t feel the need to analyse the number of miles versus the speed of every mile. The Colour Run is more about having fun with a group of friends and family and therefore I’m really not worried about it. It’s going to be a case of turn up on the day, run and have a fantastic time. In my running future is hopefully a half marathon. I want to sign up for one later on this year with my sister and my Dad but the three of us can’t seem to make a decision about which event to do, the gereral consensus is something in September or October. With this in mind I probably should be more forward thinking and start getting in the right mindset for that distance – I’m almost positive the jump from 10k to 13.1 miles is likely to be a lot harder than 5k to 10k!

On that note I’m linking up with Ashley and Amanda to tell you why running is awesome – and maybe to remind myself why I love to run so much.

…You can run anywhere and it’s a great way to explore the unknown when you’re in a new place.

…You see so much more of the world when running as opposed to driving in a car or going to the gym. Some of my favourite runs have been in the woods near my parent’s house where I have come across birds, squirrels and even the odd deer.

…Running clears my mind. It’s all about the beat of the music and the pounding of my feet, worries disappear and everything is alright with the world – for a mile or two at least!

…It’s a great sense of achievement – knowing you’ve completed a race or reached a running goal feels amazing. Plus it’s something you have achieved on your own, yes there’s been a cheering squad or a training partner but the final event is all on you – you did it. You persevered. There’s nothing quite like it. You feel a bit like Wonder Woman (it must be all the lycra) where you can achieve anything and everything – you’re unstoppable.

…Plus it’s cheap form of exercise, or at least it can be. Obviously you can spend money easily on running just like any other hobby. But realistically all you need is a pair of trainers and space to run.

…If that wasn’t enough it’s a great way to keep fit. Deciding to train for a 5k and then actually doing it was a major milestone in my being able to loose that weight that I  always mention try not to mention too much on here!

Coffee & Macarons

 

Lau xxx

4 thoughts on “Why Running is Awesome

  1. I love it! It’s been so much fun getting to know you through your blog. And, I totally agree with you in terms of exploring new places. It’s been rather fun getting a smidgen lost while we’ve been in Europe!

    xoxo

    • Thank you. I feel the Americans about your blog too. Plus I’m super jealous of all of your European adventures. Definitely something I’m adding to my bucket list.
      xx

  2. Congratulations on your 5k! You are so right about how awesome it is to run for fun. I love just being able to get out there and go. I wish I could run around London, though! It’s probably a lot more interesting than Oklahoma 🙂 Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

