August Reading

Hello, all you book lovers and welcome to my August reading round up. I’ve read some great books this month, so without further ado here’s what I’ve read…

Cinder, Marissa Meyer – I loved this book. It’s a YA book, loosely based on Cinderella except that it’s set in the future and Cinder is a cyborg. Okay now most of you are thinking that this book is odd, but it really isn’t. I was hooked straight away and I honestly can’t wait to read the next installment. I’d say that it is a must for anyone that loves the Divergent series or The Hunger Games Trilogy.

A Feast for Crows, George R.R. Martin – Yep, Game of Thrones book four has now been read. It’s so so good. I was a bit annoyed to start with that half of the characters were missing from the book. Basically George R R Martin realised that the book was going to be too big for one title and so split it into two books with this book focusing on the happenings of The Seven Kingdoms only. Even though I didn’t get to hear about some of my favourite characters I was soon engrossed in the book. There is so much good stuff that happens that you kind of forget about what you are missing.

The Cuckoo Calling, Robert Galbraith – You know me I can’t resist a good detective novel, so throw me one written by J.K. Rowling and I’m immensely excited. I was honestly gripped straight away with this one. The characters are brilliantly written and they intrigue you right away. Then there’s the actual investigation that is gripping from the start.

Esio Trot, Roald Dahl – Okay, yes this is a kids book, but it’s a Dahl book that I’ve never read. So I wanted to rectify that asap. It’s such a lovely story, plus it makes me want a tortoise!

So there you have them my August reads. I’m also currently reading Never Let Me Go, but i’m struggling a bit with it. I think because people have raved about it quite a bit so now I’m expecting a lot more from it. It’s always an issue when a book as a lot of attention on it.

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

