September Reading

Hello lovely reading bugs, here I am with a lovely post about what I read in September.

So firstly, I have to confess that I gave up on Never Let Me Go. I read about a third of it and I honestly couldn’t get myself to care about any of it at all. So back onto the bookshelf it went while I started something new. After that failure I actually read five books in September – all of them read during one week in Portugal – yes five, in one week and then none completed during the rest of the month, basically because September has been super busy month aside from that one week abroad. The sixth book that I started in Portugal is still being read right now. It’s quite a hefty one though which is why I’ve taken so long.

Guilty Wives, James Patterson

What can I say, I was on holiday and this was on special offer in the Kindle store. We all know I have a bit of a weakness for James Patterson books so it’s not like I could resist this one. I think I actually read it in a day on the patio out in the sunshine. I didn’t have big hopes for this book, but actually I really quite enjoyed it. There was also quite a decent plot twist that I wasn’t expecting too. All in all a good beach side read.

Private Berlin, James Patterson

Yep, another JP book. This one was borrowed from my sister and is the latest book in the Private series which I absolutely love. I’m sure I’ve mentioned how I was getting a bit fed up with some of the other Patterson series so I was pleased when the Private series launched as it doesn’t focus on just a couple of people, it’s about a detective company and their offices (and cases) all over the world. There’s just a bit more believably around the whole thing.

The Accident, Linwood Barclay

I love Linwood Barclay books so again I saw this in the sale and had to get it. Completely gripping and a perfect page turner for holiday reading fun.

The Detective’s Daughter, Lesley Thomson

So this was another Kindle sale book that I picked up on the off chance just before my holibobs. Thomson is not an author I’ve read before so I din’t really know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised as this was full of intrigue from the start. I’d definitely recommend and will look out for other Lesley Thomson titles in the future.

As you can see I had quite a bit of an obsession with crime novels of late. Apart from Game of Thrones it’s all I really want to read. Not that that’s a bad thing, in fact I’m all about embracing it right now. I’m actually just halfway through part two of Game of Thrones book Five right now. It’s so good, but I’m also dreading it ending too as the next book in the series isn’t publishing until next year so I know as soon as I’ve finished this one I going to be getting GoT withdrawal symptoms!

This past weekend I somehow found myself in Waterstones surrounded by so many books that I need to read. There’s just so much good stuff out now – I guess because it’s the start of Christmas publishing? Anyway whatever the reason I felt like I was in my own little piece of heaven, I think I actually want every book on this table (well the ones that I haven’t read at least). I’m actually completely astounded that I managed to make it out of there without buying anything. Guys I was so so tempted but then I remembered that two people have already asked me for Christmas lists, so instead that’s where these books are going, straight onto there.

wpid-20130928_151710.jpg

What about you lovely people, any books you just can’t put down? Send some recommendations my way please.

Lau xxx

4 thoughts on “September Reading

  1. I’ve started reading ‘A Dance with Dragons’, I am completely hooked!
    I would definitely recommend Hosseini’s novels ‘The Kite Runner’ (2003), ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ (2007) and ‘And the Mountains Echoed’ (2013)!

Leave a Reply

