A few end of the week musings

Happy Sunday friends, here’s to another week ending. I’m not sure about where you guys are, but London today is full on Autumnal. There’s rain and wind and fallen leaves of every colour. I am celebrating by relaxing on a sofa in Starbucks. A perfect Sunday in my book. Also I might have to treat myself to my favourite pumpkin spice loaf too – it’s becoming an addiction – oops!

Firstly in this weekly musings post I want to discuss porridge. Yes now that the weather has turned truly Autumnal and rainy (please read miserable) warm breakfasts are back with a vengeance  I like to eat breakfast once I arrive at work but with the microwave being 6 floors away there is no way I am traipsing down there everyday to microwave my porridge, so the fact that I have discovered porridge pots is a lifesaver. They are so simple add hot water to the line, stir and voila porridge is made. I may have stocked up on quite a few of these, in numerous flavours. Well I have to try them all obviously!

wpid-IMG_20131008_183350.jpg

So I also did a spot of baking this past week. There was a birthday at work, so I was all like I’ll bake, I’ll bake! Mainly because I’ve been wanting to try a recipe for ages and ages, plus everyone wants some home cooked goodies on their birthday, right? So I made this double chocolate loaf cake that I found on the BBC GoodFood website. Not only does it look and smell delicious, but taste-wise it’s to die for! I will of course be writing up the recipe over on Cook Bake & Eat later this month.

I’m also still loving the named Coke bottles. On Monday I had a diet coke break with a friend – okay so she wasn’t physically with me but picking a bottle with her name on made me smile! However I did get to spend the day with her on Saturday which was absolutely lovely.

This week I’ve also been engrossed in The Innocent by Harlan Coben. Considering how much I love his books I was surprised to find that I hadn’t read this one yet, I loved it and couldn’t put it down. It certainly helped pass endless bus journeys – my bus was on diversion all week.

wpid-1381345200505.jpg

Along with lots of reading I have also been watching an awful lot of Friday Night Lights this week. Yes I’m a bit late getting to this show, especially considering how big of an American Football fan I am. Plus my favourite film of all time is Remember the Titans, so I was bound to love FNL. Anyway I’ve now officially caught the bug and seriously feel the love for everyone at Dillon High School.

Yesterday I had a lovely day catching up with one of my best friends – we were feeling suitably jealous of another friend being in New York so we got together for a proper catch up. There was a pub lunch, coffee and cake, lots of chattering, reminiscing over travelling days and a wander around Rochester – I’ve hadn’t been before but it’s got so many cute shops and coffee places. Definitely going back there sometime to discover more. I have to admit by the time I got back home I was utterly exhausted, there’s nothing like catching up with a friend with lots of talking and walking in the fresh air to tire a person out! I did fall in love with this lovely owl vase in the middle of the below picture. Yes we all know my owl obsession (in fact I’m planning an owl post soon) so how could I not love this!

wpid-20131012_152136.jpg

One final thought – Every Friday should be cake day at work. Who agrees with me? Personally I always find a Friday in the office to drag. It’s a bit quieter, everything is a bit slower and I’m just a bit tireder than on any other day. Hence the need for cake. So I am proposing a renaming of Friday to Cakeday where eating cake in the office is mandatory. Office mouse be damned!

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

