Shakespeare and The Globe

Today I’m talking Shakespeare. Sorry if this sounds too much like an English lesson, but I went to The Globe recently to watch Macbeth and it reminded me just how much I love The Bard.

Fair is foul

Let me start by saying that there is no better place to watch a play from Shakespeare than at The Globe. This building is glorious and you do truly feel like you are back in Elizabethan times. If you haven’t seen the site in London then let me explain, The original Globe theatre from Elizabethan times was recreated next to the river in the 1990’s. The stage and seating is the same as it was then, so you sit on wooden benches, or stand in the middle area in front of the stage. The building is open in the middle so if it rains then you get wet, it’s basically like a trip back in time. Except that they sell coffee, hog roasts and bags of sweets!

Please If you are ever in London during the summer months and have the time then you should definitely try and get tickets. You won’t regret it, I promise. I’m lucky enough to have seen quite a few plays here now, and each one is outstanding, a thorough treat. In fact I’ve actually seen Macbeth her before, but when I saw it was on again this year, I just had to go and see it. It’s a different production with a new director and a different cast so I was intrigued to see how it would go.

Stars

Banquo

I actually studied Macbeth for my GCSE’s way back when I was 16 and since then it has always been my favourite of Shakespeare’s works. So I may have gone to this play with ginormous (great word love) expectations, well I wasn’t disappointed. The cast were amazing, the staging was brilliantly done and I was mesmerised from the start. Any play that distracts you from the fact that you are sitting on wooden benches is a win in my book! I’m already looking forward to next year, to see what plays are coming our way. I’m sort of hoping for Hamlet…

what'sdone

courage

So what we’ve learned from my favourite Macbeth quotes interspersed throughout this post is that I love Lady Macbeth’s lines. I think this might have something to do with me playing her when we were studying it – clearly a connection was made at the time!

Lau xxx

Leave a Reply

